The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

May 21, 2013

Voters decisively pass local budgets

Medina Journal-Register

Medina Journal-Register —

Voters in area school districts went to the polls Tuesday to decide school budgets and board members.

In Medina, over 700 residents cast a ballot, and overwhelming majority of 577 approved the passage of the district budget while 148 voted against it.

The other two propositions also passed. The purchase of buses was approved 552 to 170 and the establishment of a transportation capital reserve fund passed 572 to 137.

Voters also needed to choose four board members from a five-candidate pool. The top three vote-getters won three-year seats while the fourth-highest earner won a one-year seat.

Those who won three-year terms were Wendi Pencille and John McCarthy, both incumbents, and Lori Draper. David Sevenski won the one-year term. Incumbent Virginia Nicholson was not re-elected.

In Lyndonville, voters approved every measure on the ballot and chose four board members among a five-person field.

The budget passed by a tally of 196 to 80. Voters approved the establishment of a capital reserve fund by a count of 190 to 77, and they passed a measure to purchase new vehicles 188 to 81.

Also, the Yates Community Library budget passed 187 to 83.

Voters also were asked to decide whether the size of the Lyndonville School Board should be lessened. That proposition went through resoundingly, 209 to 60. Its passage means that on July 1, 2014, the school board will reduce in size from nine to seven members.

As for who is on the board, voters elected incumbents Terry Stinson and James Moody to three-year terms. Harold Suhr and Michelle Dillenbeck were also voted into office. Suhr earned a three-year seat on the board, while Dillenbeck will serve a two-year term.

Albion voters also approved the measures put before them. The school budget passed by a count of 294 to 79, and the establishment of a bus purchase reserve fund passed 305 to 69.

The library budget also was approved by a count of 264 to 109.

Two candidates — Margy Brown (338) and Linda Weller (257) — won five-year terms, having run unopposed.