The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

March 18, 2013

Repeat picks topN-O All-League team

Staff Reports
Medina Journal-Register

Medina Journal-Register — Three repeat selections - Barker junior forward Jacob Haight, Roy-Hart senior guard Brad Bobbitt and CSAT senior guard Darnell Carson - head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League boys basketball squad.

Newfane senior guard Connor Sears and Akron senior forward Conner Ladd, both second team picks a year ago, round out the first team.

Haight poured in 425 points on the season for a 20.2 average. He also grabbed off 262 rebounds and had 49 assists an 25 blocks.

Bobbitt scored 274 points for a 15.2 average and also had 116 rebounds, 135 assists and 54 steals.

In helping to lead CSAT to its first N-O title, Carson scored 316 points for a league high 22.5 average. He also had 64 assists, 56 steals and 42 rebounds.

Sears scored 307 points (17.0 ave.) and had 141 rebounds, 91 steals and 88 assists.

Ladd averaged 9 rebounds, 8 points and 2.5 steals per outing.

Five schools are also represented on the second team including Roy-Hart senior Blake Copella, Barker junior Mitch Luckman, Akron senior Austin Mietz, Newfane senior Reid Weber and CSAT senior Jaquille Peay.

Copella scored 260 points (14.4 ave.) and had 105 rebounds, 60 assists and 43 steals. Luckman tallied 234 points (11.1 ave.) and added 96 rebounds, 86 assists and 25 steals. Weber scored 185 points (10.5 ave.) and had 54 assists, 50 rebounds and 46 steals. Mietz averaged 11 point, 4 rebounds and 2 assists per outing. Peay acreage 8.8 points per game and grabbed off a total of 143 rebounds.

Medina, Albion and Roy-Hart each had two honorable mention selections. The Mustangs are represented by senior Lonnie Taylor and junior Dan Brown, Albion by seniors Fred Koester and Marquis Riddick and Roy-Hart by senior Ryan Farewell and junior Alex Stoddard.

N-O ALL-LEAGUE BOYS BASKETBALL SQUAD First Team G - Darnell Carson CSAT 5-9 Sr. F - Jacob Haight Barker 6-4 Jr. G - Connor Sears Newfane 6-0 Sr. G - Brad Bobbitt Roy-Hart 5-11 Sr. F - Connor Ladd Akron 6-2 Sr. Second Team F - Blake Copella Roy-Hart 6-1 Sr. G - Austin Mietz Akron 6-1 Sr. F - Jaquille Peay CSAT 6-4 Sr G - Reid Weber Newfane 5-11 Sr. G - Mitch Luckman Barker 5-11 Jr. Honorable Mention Medina - Lonnie Taylor (Sr.), Dan Brown (Jr.). Albion - Fred Koester (Sr.), Marquise Riddick (Sr.). Roy-Hart - Ryan Farewell (Sr.), Alex Stoddard (Jr.) CSAT - Alex Santos (Jr.). Wilson - Matt Baker (Sr). Newfane - Bryan Geise (Sr.). Akron - Gowah Abrams (Sr.). Barker - Chris Sweeney (So.)