The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

February 7, 2013

Local grapplers seek spots in state tourney

Staff Reports
Medina Journal-Register

Medina Journal-Register — Earning a spot in the state championships is the goal of some two dozen local wrestlers who will be competing in the sectional championships this weekend.

Medina’s Matt Montesanti and Lyndonville’s Tony Recco, who are both prepping to defend their sectional titles, heads the local contingent.

The Section VI state qualifier will be held Sunday the the University at Buffalo’s Alumni Arean and the Section V qualifier wil be held Friday and Saturday at SUNY Brockport.

Montesanti decisioned Roy-Hart’s Clayton Smith 4-1 in last weekend’s Section VI Class C final. It was a rematch of the Niagara-Orleans All-League tournament final and could well be again a rematch in Sunday’s Section VI finals.

Recco likewise faced a familiar foe last weekend as he decisioned Kendall’s Avery Iqbal 6-0 in the 106 pound finals at the Section V Class B tournament. 

Medina has also qualified Brennen Callara (99) and Nick Erway (120), who both placed third at the Class C Tournament.

Lyndonville has qualified four other grapplers for the Section V state qualifier including Dustin Hinkley (120), Tommy Follman (132), Dustin Joy (126) and Jeffrey Gress Jr. (99). Hinkley placed third, Follman fourth, Joy fifth and Gress sixth at the Class B tournament.

Two Class C champions, Drew Hull (145) and Cameron Swick (106), heads Roy-Hart’s contingent for the Section VI state qualifier which also includes Zach Bickle (126) and Alex Jensen (220) who placed third and fourth respectively at the Class C tournament.

Albion will be represented at the Section VI state qualifier by Kyle McGaffick (145) and Greg Blank (160) who both placed third at last weekend’s Section VI Class B tournament.

Holley, which repeated as the Section V Class BB team champion last weekend, has advanced the largest contingent as the Hawks will be sending 10 grapplers to the Section V state qualifier.

Andrew Flanagan (99) and Mike Silvis (220), who both captured Class BB titles heads the Hawks delegation. That group also includes Martin Beadle (132) and Caleb Deip (160) who both plced second at the Class BB tourney along with Kevn Avery (145) who placed third, Alan White (20) who took fourth and Dan Flanagan (1260, Sam Beadle (138), Nick Winkley (170) and Lucas Silvis (285) who each placed fifth.