The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

June 24, 2013

Banquet honors Tigers student athletes

Staff Reports
Medina Journal-Register

Medina Journal-Register — LYNDONVILLE - The presentation of a number of special awards highlighted the recent annual Lyndonville High athletic banquet.

Austin Bane and Haley Anderson received the Coaches Award while the Babe Ruth Sportsmanship Award went to Joseph Sunday and Elyssa Rodriguez.

The “Doc” Layer Memorial Award went to Thomas Goetze, the “Bub” Meland Memorial Award to Keri Stillinger and the Alfred L. Schmitt Memorial Award to Bane and Alexandra Harling.

Edward Silversmith received the Unsung Hero Award.

The Harold Dix. Jr. Memorial Soccer Award went to James Ianni and Autumn Nesbitt; the Paul Howell Memorial Basketball Award to Bane and Sierra VanWycke; the Mike Fuller Memorial Wrestling Award to Anthony Recco and the Ted Hettig Memorial Baseball/Softball Award to Justin Edwards and Alyssa Houseman.

Tri-Athlete Awards were presented to Anderson (soccer 2008-2012, basketball 2008-2013 and track 2009-2013), Harling (volleyball 2008-1012, basketball 2008-2013 and softball 2009-2013) and Houseman (volleyball 2008-2012, cheerleading 2008-2012 and softball 2009-2013).

Most Valuable Player Awards were presented to Anderson (soccer, basketball, track), Stillinger (volleyball), Rodriguez (most spirited cheerleader), Bane (basketball), Recco (wrestling), Houseman (softball), Silversmith (baseball), Annika Klingenberg (track), Leann Balcerzak (track), Dalton Cerbone (track), James Luckman (track) and Justin Ottaviano (track).

Most Improved Player Awards were presented to Madison Boyle (soccer), Katie Marek (volleyball, softball), Klingenberg (cheerleading), Courtney Traxler (basketball), Ty Hrovat (basketball), Christopher McDonald (wrestling) and Cullen Donald (baseball).

The U.S. Army Scholar-Athlete Award was presented to Silversmith and Houseman, the U.S. Air Force Award to Goetze and Traxler and the U.S. Marine Corps Award to James Luckman and VanWycke.

Senior Athletic Plaques were presented to Harling (volleyball, basketball and softball), Houseman (volleyball, cheerleading and softball), Klingenberg (cheerleading and track), Bane (soccer, basketball and baseball), Brad Smith (baseball), Christian Bale (baseball), Cole Heideman (track), Traxler (soccer and basketball), Donald (baseball), Damen Mauragis (soccer), Silversmith (soccer and baseball), Rodriguez (volleyball, basketball, cheerleading and track), Anderson (soccer, basketball and track), Luckman (track), Sunday (basketball, track), Jordan Dixon (volleyball and cheerleading), Joy Follman (soccer), Ottaviano (basketball and track), Stillinger (volleyball, cheerleading and softball), Morgan James (cheerleading), Rachael Allen (cheerleading and softball), Robert Hopper (basketball), VanWycke (Volleyball, basketball and softball) and Goetze (soccer).