The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

April 5, 2013

Youth dominates Medina High boys track squad lineup

By Mike Wertman
Medina Journal-Register

Medina Journal-Register — Underclassmen dominate the roster as the Medina High boys track squad preps for the upcoming Niagara-Orleans League season.

Junior Forrest Harper, who placed second in the 200 and third in the 100 at last year’s N-O All-League meet, heads Medina’s veteran group which also includes Nick Zagmester (distance events) and Adam Eick (shot-put and discus), the only seniors on the squad, along with juniors James Soha (hurdles), Anthony Pane (distance), Patrick Roberts (distance) and sophomores Austin Heil (middle distance), Ryan Leffler (distance) and Matt Cochrane 

“It’s a very young group but we’re hoping to improve as the year goes along,” said coach Jeff Dole. “We have some kids who can be very competitive and we’ve got a lot of kids who can so a lot of things.”

Medina’s biggest loss to graduation was Jerick Perez who who won both the 100 and 200 at the N-O All-League meet.

The Mustangs roster also includes juniors David Arbasak, Scott Barber, Drake Grabowski, Alex O’Keefe, Parnell Poole, Barry Rogenmoser and Ben McPherson; sophomores Leon Atkins, Austin Brown, Derek Donley, John Miller and Sam Simms; freshman Jake Quackenbush; eighth graders William Bellan, Vassilios Bitsas, Quincy Harper, Angel Lopez and Emanuel Sones and seventh graders K’rom Bellan and Dan Heil.

Looking to improve upon last year’s 0-6 record, Medina is scheduled to host Roy-Hart in the N-O opener on April 18.

Medina Mustangs COACH: Jeff Dole LAST YEAR: 0-6 KEY LOSSES: Jerick Perez (1st 100 and 200 at All-League meet) KEY RETURNEES: Forrest Harper (Jr., sprints), Nick Zagmester (Sr., distance), Adam Eick (Sr., throws), Anthony Pane (Jr. distance), James Soha (Jr. hurdles) SCHEDULE: April 18 - Roy-Hart, 4:15 p.m. April 23 - at Brker, 4:15 p.m. April 25 - at Akron, 4:15 p.m. April 30 - Wilson, 4:15 p.m. May 2 - at Albion, 4:15 p.m. May 9 - Newfane, 4:15 p.m. May 15-16 - All-League meet at Roy-Hart, 4 p.m.