The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

June 12, 2013

Albion quartet heads N-O All-League diamond squad

Staff Reports
Medina Journal-Register

Medina Journal-Register — A quartet of players from champion Albion head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League baseball squad.

Albion, which compiled a 12-2 record to win a second straight N-O title, is represented by junior pitcher Connor Barleben, junior catcher John Warne, senior infielder John Page and junior first baseman Steven Stauss.

Medina and Akron, which shared the runner-up position at 10-4 both placed two players on the first team as did Roy-Hart. The Mustangs are represented by senior outfielders Tyler Colonna and Jake Cotriss, the Tigers by junior utility player Tommy James and senior outfielder Austin Mietz and Roy-Hart by senior outfielder Ryan Farewell and freshman infielder Andy Xapsos.

Rounding out the first team are Newfane junior pitcher Josh Kneeland and Wilson senior outfielder Michael Thompson.

Kneeland, Cotriss, Mietz, Thompson, Warne and James were all second team All-League honorees a year ago.

Barleben hit .386 this season for Albion with two doubles, four triples, one home run and 10 RBIs. On the mound, he posted a 5-1 record with 51 strikeouts and an earned run average of .095.

Warne, a three year starting catcher for the Purple Eagles, hit .429 with three doubles, three triples and eight RBIs.

Page hit .458 with three doubles, one triple, oe home run, 18 stolen bases and 10 RBIs. On the mound he went 4-1 with 29 strikeouts and a 1.44 era.

Stauss hit .449 with six doubles, two triples and 15 RBS.

Colonna hit .405 for Medina with five doubles, one home run and 14 RBIs while Cotriss hit .40 with one double, two triples, 14 stolen bases and five RBIs.

James hit .408 for Akron with four doubles, one home run and 17 RBIs. On the mound, he went 6-2 with 49 strikeout and an era. of 2.83.

Mietz hit .367 with one double, five triples, two home runs and 14 RBIs.

Farewell hit .57 for Roy-Hart with three doubles, one triple, one home run and 13 RBIS and Xapsos hit .386 with three doubles, three triples and 12 RBIs. On the mound, Frwewell had 35 strikeouts in 33 innings.

Kneeland posted a 5-1 record on the mound with 84 strikeouts in 41 innings and an era. of 0.68. At the plate, he hit .289 with two doubles, three triples, one home run and 11 RBIs.

Thompson hit .361 for Wilson with four doubles, two triples and 10 RBIs.

Wilson and Barker led the way on the seond team with three selections each. The Lakemen are represented by outfielders Taylor Thilk and Chris Reid and infielder Derek Martin, all seniors. The Raiders have placed catcher Zach Shaft, first baseman Josh Bergman and infielder Tyler Gregoire, all seniors.

Medina is represented on the second team by junior pitcher Adam Hoot and sophomore utility player Matt Riemer who pitched and played third base for the Mustangs.

Albion has placed senior pitcher Chris Reed and Roy-Hart outfielder Nick Morse and infielder Judd Jamieson, both seniors.

Completing the second tam is CSAT sophomore first baseman Peter Grunzweig.

Albion seniors Ed Narburgh and Jack Narburgh both received honorable mention as did Medina senior Zach Newton and Roy-Hart sophomore Josh Baptiste.

N-O All-League Baseball Squad First Team P - Connor Barleben Albion Jr. P - Josh Kneeland Newfane Jr. C - John Warne Albion Jr. 1B - Steven Stauss Albion Jr. Inf - John Page Albion Sr. Inf - Andy Xapsos Roy-Hart Fr. Inf - Michael Thompson Wilson Sr. OF - Austin Mietz Akron Sr. Of - Ryan Farewell Roy-Hart Sr. OF - Tyler Colonna Medina Sr. Of - Jake Cotriss Medina Sr. Ut - Tommy James Akron Jr. Second Team P - Chris Reed Albion Sr. P - Adam Hoot Medina Jr. C - Zach Shaft Barker Sr. 1B - Peter Grunzwig CSAT So. 1B - Josh Bergman Barker Sr. If - Tyler Gregoire Barker Sr. Inf - Judd Jamieson Roy-Hart Sr. Inf - Derek Martin Wilson Sr. Of - Taylor Thilk Wilson Sr. OF - Nick Morse Roy-Hart Sr. Of - Chris Reid Wilson Sr. Ut - Matt Riemer Medina So. Honorable Mention Akron - Garrett Jones, Sr.; Mitchell Schultz, Sr.; Zach Pfentner, So.; Connor Riggs, So. Albion - Ed Narburgh, Sr.; Jack Narburgh, Sr. CSAT - Derrick Spinda, Sr. Medina - Zach Newton, Sr. Roy-Hart - Josh Bapiste, So. Wilson - Ryan Hecko, Sr.; John Delisi, Sr.