The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

November 15, 2012


Staff Reports
Medina Journal-Register

Medina Journal-Register — A trio of players from champion Barker heads the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League field hockey squad.

Barker, which captured a seventh straight N-O title with an 11-0-1 record, is represented by attackers Olivia Denny, a junior, and Kayla Moeller, a senior, along with defender/midfielder Jessica Hefferon, a senior.

Kenmore, which finished in the runner-up spot at 10-1-1, has placed the junior sister duo of forward Kaeli Mathias and defender Brianna Mathias.

Roy-Hart and Akron, which finished deadlocked for third place at 7-5, have both placed two players. Roy-Hart is represented by senior forwards Kylie Majka and Paige Flynn. Akron has placed senior winger Alisha Bell and junior midfielder Claudia Stone.

Rounding out the first team are Medina senior forward Olivia Hermann, Newfane junior forward Morgan Bedford and Wilson junior forward Michelle Myers.

Kaeli Mathias and Flynn are both repeat selections while Moeller, Hefferon, Brianna Mathias, Myers and Hermann were all second team honorees last year.

Denny led Barker in scoring with 19 goals and eight assists while Moeller had 16 goals and eight assists and Hefferon four goals and three assists.

Kaeli Mathias led the league in scoring with 29 goals and six assists and Brianna Mathias added six goals and 10 assists.

Flynn led the offense for Roy-Hart with 12 goals and two assists and Majka had two goals and seven assists.

Bell scored seven goals and Stone added two goals and five assists for Akron.

Meyers scored eight goals for Wilson while Bedford had six goals and nine assists for Newfane and Hermann four goals and two assists for


Barker also placed three players on the second team including senior midfield/defender Makenzi Strickland, junior midfielder Heather Mason and sophomore attacker Gabrielle Clare who had 11 goals and eight assists.

Kenmore is represented on the second team by senior defender Morgann Obrochta and junior midfielder Adrianna King; Roy-Hart by senior defender Liz Offhaus and senior forward Marissa Catalano; Akron by senior midfielders Claire Johnson and Tracy Johnston; Newfane by senior defender Lauren DeChambeau; Wilson by junior midfielder Cassandra Carr and Medina by junior midfielder/defender Kelsey Evoy.

Roy-Hart also has two honorable mention selections in sophomores Deanna Catalano (goalie) and Casidhe Heschke (midfielder) as does Medina in juniors Jayne Kuhn (offense) and Lindsey Hill (defense).

First Team Barker - Olivia Denny Jr. Attack Barker - Kayla Moeller SR. Attack Barker - Jessica Hefferon Sr. Def/Mid Kenmore - Kaeli Mathias Jr. Forward Kenmore - Brianna Mathias Jr. Defense Roy-Hart - Kylie Majka Sr. Forward Roy-Hart - Paige Flynn Sr. Forward Akron - Claudia Stone Jr. Midfield Akron - Alisha Bell Sr. Wing Newfane - Morgan Bedford Jr. Attack Wilson - Michelle Myers Jr. Offense Medina - Olivia Hermann Sr. Offense Second Team Barker - Makenzi Strickland Sr. Mid/Def Barker - Gabrielle Clare So. Attack Barker - Heather Mason Jr. Midfield Kenmore - Adrianna King Jr. Midfield Kenmore - Morgann Obrochta Sr. Defense Roy-Hart - Liz Offhaus Sr. Defense Roy-Hart - Marissa Catalano Sr. Forward Akron - Claire Johnson Sr. Midfield Akron - Tracy Johnston Sr. Midfield Newfane - Lauren DeChambeau Sr. Defense Wilson - Cassandra Carr Jr. Midfield Medina - Kelsey Evoy Jr. Mid/Def Honorable Mention Barker - Kim Zaepfel (Sr.), Meghan Menz (Sr.), Melissa Grosshans (So.), Morgan Brown (So.), Caitlyn Mason (Fr.) Kenmore - Lauren Gantz (Sr.), Lindsey Plame (Jr.) Roy-Hart - Deanna Catalano (So.), Casidhe Heschke (So.) Akron - Catherine Kelkenberg (Sr.), Alyssa Sturmer (Sr.), Gabrielle Hill (Jr.) Newfane - Lil Masters (Sr.), Leah Burns (Jr.), Leah Good (So.), Sarah Thompson (Sr.) Wilson - Marisa Walck (Jr.), Arianna Lamb (Sr.), Kayleigh St. Onge (Sr.) Medina - Jayne Kuhn (Jr.), Lindsey Hill (Jr.)