The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

Opinion

Opinion
  • tom valley VALLEY: Apocalypse tonight, details tomorrow

     

    Wow! Is my face red? I’m so embarrassed. I really hadn’t planned on submitting a column this week. I didn’t think I’d have to — with the end of the world scheduled for last Saturday and all. Now, here I sit pounding the keyboard. Working on something, anything — just to meet deadline.

     

    May 25, 2011 1 Photo

  • tom valley VALLEY: Media is wrong on how we should react

     

    I suppose it’s old news, but since it’s big news, I thought I’d add my 2 cents. I’m talking about the fact that Osama bin Laden is dead. My take? Cool!

     

    May 18, 2011 1 Photo

  • tom valley VALLEY: Maybe I should use the drive-thru

     

    I think I’ve mellowed over the years — I suppose that’s good. But there are times when my aged redneck-philosophy slips through the filters of reason (an editorial process that is usually installed by maturity). And instead of keeping my trap shut, I ignore the wisdom of common sense and spout off. Different scenarios can trigger such an event.

     

    May 11, 2011 1 Photo

  • confer CONFER: The original instant messaging

    The Internet has made the world a smaller place. We can log on to our email and Facebook accounts and share messages with friends and family around the globe. We can use Skype to see and talk to them from the comfort of our homes. It’s like the futuristic technology that was once a part of sci-fi movies is here now.

    May 9, 2011 1 Photo

  • VALLEY: I’ll have nun of that in this column

     

    Five years ago, this week, I happened to be in the Medina Journal-Register newspaper office. Back then I was doing a second-rate cartoon strip — as an advertisement for Curvin’s Newsstand — and I’d stopped in to drop it off. While I was there, I ran into the newspaper’s editor, Mike Reagan. (Mike has since left the job.)

     

    May 4, 2011

  • tom valley VALLEY: Thou salt not overact

     

    Such irony: All of the actors playing Jewish people in the film were hams. I refer to, of course, the epic Cecil B. Demille motion-picture “The Ten Commandments.”

     

    April 27, 2011 1 Photo

  • confer CONFER: U.S. actions support al-Qaeda

    Al-Qaeda left an indelible mark on modern America. By orchestrating the terror attacks Sept. 11, 2001 — killing thousands while attempting, even succeeding, to topple some of our most iconic structures — it changed the way of life in America by forcing our government’s hand in taking away the rights to freedom and privacy that we once swore were ours forever.

    April 25, 2011 1 Photo

  • tom valley VALLEY: Soap operas: Before and under siege

     

    And then I said, laughingly, “Nicholas Cage, are you kidding me? Can you believe the irony?”

     

    April 20, 2011 1 Photo

  • confer CONFER: Long-term care, long-term burden

     

    Sometime very soon, the Department of Health and Human Services will iron out details of the CLASS Act and submit information to employers in preparation for enrolling their employees into the voluntary program in 2012.

     

    April 18, 2011 1 Photo

  • tom valley VALLEY: In no particular order ...

    I often get e-mails regarding my nephew, Mark. (With that said: “Hello” to those readers somewhere in Quebec.) And as a special service to those requesting information, here’s an update: I was in touch with Mark after his Fox television show “Human Target” ended this year and he had not heard from the network as to whether or not his two-year-old series would be renewed.

     

     

    April 13, 2011 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
Magazines
Seasonal Content
Photo of the Day