The Journal Register (Medina, NY)

May 19, 2012

Lockport sweeps Ken-Ton invite

Staff Reports
Niagara Gazette

— Lockport topped both the boys and girls fields at the Ken-Ton Invitational Saturday at Crosby Field. 

The Lockport girls topped the field with 128.5 points while the boys scored 112. Both the boys (50) and girls (53) Niagara Falls teams placed third.

Lockport won the 400-meter relay while Tom Furlong won the shotput as well with a throw of 47-feet, 3.75 inches. Teammate Bubba Ralyea (13-6) captured the pole vault. 

K'Shawn Sistrunk of Niagara Falls won the 100 (11.15) and 200 (23.41). Teammate Brandon Joyce swept the jumps as he won the long jump (20-9), triple jump (42-8.75) and high jump (6-8).

Tonawanda's Bobby Liebel won the 400 (50.72) and Kenmore West's Marcus Lobdell won the 110 hurdles in 15.39.

On the girls side, Lockport's Abby Lang won the 1,500 in 5:10.4. Lockport's girls 400 relay squad also took first. 

Niagara Falls' Jazlyn Porter won a pair of events, crossing first in the 400 (59.06) and leaping the furthest in the long jump (15-11.75). Mount St. Mary's Malayah White captured victories in the 100 (12.68) and the 200 (25.84). 

Carl Roesch Classic

Starpoint's A.J. Joslin finished third in the 1,600 in 4:35.44, Jordan Roseland was third in the Steeplechase and Matt Prohaska came in fourth in the 3,200 to lead the Spartans. Tom Moran took fifth in the pole vault, while Justin Thompson came in sixth. Adam Yacos took fifth in the 800 and Carl Daigler took sixth in the steeplechase as well.

WNY Girls Track & Field Championship

Bernice Dumbelton won the discus with a throw of 116-feet, 10 inches. She placed second in the shotput with a throw of 37 feet, 4 inches. Livia Chase placed second in the 3,000 in 10:28.13. 

Kaylee Schifferly took fifth in the 100 while she also placed fourth in the 200 in 27.33. Eighth grader Sophia Tasselmmyer had a pair of strong performances, including a sixth-place finish in the 1,500 in 5:05.85. The eighth-grade foursome of Anna Saraf, Kalia Juchan, Alexis Kalota and Tasselmyer won the 4x400 in 4:53.17.